MENU close-nav Created with Sketch.


Beethoven Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21
Beethoven Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125
with Voices NZ Choir

Music Director Edo de Waart’s final Masterworks concerts for 2018 highlight two milestones in not only Beethoven’s career, but the symphonic repertoire. Hear in one concert the composer’s journey from Classical to Romantic and in the process changing music forever.

The First Symphony is from a young Beethoven, already making his name in Vienna as a pianist and composer. While it owes a debt to Haydn, it also shows a composer hungry to explore and experiment.

His gargantuan Symphony No. 9, written when he had become completely deaf, is one of his greatest and most loved works. With four fantastic soloists - soprano Madeleine Pierard, mezzo-soprano Kristin Darragh, tenor Simon O’Neill and bass Anthony Robin Schneider - and premier choir Voices New Zealand for the fourth movement’s ‘Ode to Joy’, this is an event no one should miss.

The approximate runtime for this concert is 2 hours.

Something extra? 


Join Simon for an intimate conversation about his journey to the top of the operatic world, a few days before he performs as a soloist in Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 with the NZSO.

In Conversation events provide a fascinating insight into some of the world’s greatest performers. The evening commences with canapes and a selection of stunning wines by Craggy Range, and a chance to mingle with donors, NZSO players, and the featured artist.

This special event will take place in Wellington.
Click here to find out more.