MENU close-nav Created with Sketch.


Shostakovich Festive Overture, Op. 96
Grieg Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16
Shostakovich Symphony No. 10 in E minor, Op. 93

This concert sees the return of two great artists who individually had a big impact on audiences when they were last here in 2015 – Spanish conductor Jaime Martín and Macedonian pianist Simon Trpčeski.

Grieg’s Piano Concerto has one of the most recognisable openings in the piano repertoire and the work is a passionate evocation of Grieg’s love of Norwegian folk music. This is a quintessential Romantic work that promises to be spellbinding under the command of Trpčeski.

Shostakovich wrote his Tenth Symphony, his first in over eight years, following the death of Stalin – an event which may have impacted on the creation of the piece.

The approximate runtime for this concert is 1 hour 50 minutes.

Something extra? 

NZSO In Conversation with Jaime Martín

Following his prominent career as a flautist, Jaime Martín has risen quickly to international acclaim as a conductor. Join us to hear more about the history of this remarkable musician!

In Conversation events provide a fascinating insight into some of the world’s greatest performers. The evening commences with canapes and a selection of stunning wines by Craggy Range, and a chance to mingle with donors, NZSO players, and the featured artist.

These special event will take place in Wellington.
Click here to find out more.