MENU close-nav Created with Sketch.


HK Gruber Conductor & Chansonnier
Håkan Hardenberger Trumpet & Conductor

Unknown Kindersinfonie: Toy Symphony
Stravinsky Circus Polka: For a Young Elephant
HK Gruber Aerial
Haydn Symphony No. 22 in E flat major, Hob. 1/22 The Philosopher
HK Gruber Frankenstein!!

The concert starts with the playful Toy Symphony, a work with toy instruments, including a trumpet, ratchet, nightingale, cuckoo and drum.

Stravinsky’s Circus Polka: For a Young Elephant was written for Ringling Bros. and Barnum and Bailey Circus and performed by 50 elephants and 50 ballerinas.

HK Gruber’s Aerial is a trumpet concerto written for Hardenberger. The first movement depicts aerial views of a Nordic landscape; the second imagines seeing the world from space.

Written while Haydn was at the court of Prince Nicolaus Esterházy, Symphony no. 22 The Philosopher was ground breaking. With innovative instrumentation and reordering of the movements, it broke tradition with a style that Haydn himself had been instrumental in creating.

HK Gruber describes Frankenstein!! as a “pan-demonium” for chansonnier (singing and rapid spoken patter) and orchestra after children’s rhymes by H.C. Artmann.

Concert run time is approx. 108min

Something extra?

In Conversation with HK Gruber
Wed 9 Oct - Wellington

In Conversation events are an opportunity to gain an in-depth look into the lives of some of the world’s greatest performers.
In Conversation events can be booked as an Add-on as part of your subscription for only $20 per event.