Alexander Shelley Conductor         
Cameron Carpenter Organ   

J S Bach Toccata and Fugue in D Minor
Poulenc Organ Concerto
Beethoven Symphony No. 5 

Alexander Shelley returns to conduct this tribute to the mightiest of instruments – the organ. The only instrument to match the orchestra itself in scale and grandeur of sound, its limits will be thrillingly pushed under the hands of maverick organist Cameron Carpenter.

Known for his dramatically individualistic takes on classic organ repertoire, Carpenter revolutionises one of Bach’s greatest organ works: the iconic Toccata and Fugue in D Minor. His prodigious talents will be further showcased in Francis Poulenc’s Organ Concerto in G minor. Originally intended as an easy showcase for a wealthy commissioner’s organ-playing skills, Poulenc soon expanded this original concept, drawing on J S Bach’s and Dietrich Buxtehude’s great Baroque organ works to create his own grand masterpiece.

Beethoven enlarged the scope of the symphony when he wrote arguably his most famous: the Fifth. The opening “da-da-da-dah” rhythmic motif ties the symphony together in a previously uncommon cyclic structure. Beethoven’s structural daring is only matched by the symphony’s breathless urgency, making the work irresistible to listeners even today.