WLG, 18 Apr | AKL, 21 Apr

Hamish McKeich Conductor
Ariana Tikao Taonga puoro

Toru Takemitsu Archipelago S.
Chinary Ung Water Rings 
Kaija Saariaho Nymphéa Reflection
Philip Brownlee/ Ariana Tikao Ko te tātai whetū

Wai features five outstanding 20th and 21st century works on the theme of water – its power, tranquillity, flow and different forms.

Japanese composer Toru Takemitsu’s Archipelago S. will have the NZSO dispersed into five groups like an archipelago of islands.

Water Rings is influenced by dance rhythms and folk tunes of composer Chinary Ung’s native Cambodia. Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho is renowned for sonic images of magnetic power, blending acoustic and electronic music. Her acclaimed Nymphéa Reflection features a poem whispered by the players, echoing the reflection of water.

Premiered in 2015, Ko te tātai whetū is a concerto for orchestra and taonga puoro. Featuring performer Ariana Tikao, it tells the story of Tāne’s journey between the underworld and the world of the living. Auckland’s concert is presented in association with ISCM World New Music Days 2020.

Adult $35
Student/Child $15