Vesa-Matti Leppänen Director
Anna van der Zee Violin
Malavika Gopal Violin
Simeon Broom Violin
Alan Molina Violin

Vivaldi The Four Seasons
Piazzolla orch. Desyatnikov Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas (The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires)

As autumn leaves fall, NZSO warms up the weather with the most colourful of musical seasons.

Vivaldi’s Four Seasons are now popular everywhere, but at the time he wrote these four concerti, they were considered almost wacky. A musical depiction of every season, right down to hearing birds trill and dogs bark? Really?

400 years later though, the left-field genius of his idea bears rich fruit in Piazzolla’s homage to the original work. Initially written for violin, piano, electric guitar, bass and bandonéon (tango accordion), Desyatnikov’s string orchestration of Las Cuatro Estaciones brings forth the spicy contrast between the original Vivaldi work and Piazzolla’s nuevo tango style, giving Las Cuatro Estaciones its special Latin sizzle.

NZSO violinists – Anna van der Zee, Malavika Gopal, Simeon Broom, and Alan Molina – step into the spotlight to perform a ‘Season’ each, under the steady leadership of NZSO concertmaster, Vesa-Matti Leppänen.

Hamilton presented in association with SkyCity Hotels Group.

Nelson presented in association with Roger and Catherine Taylor. 


NZSO Members can login here to access member discounts.