How the awards are made

The Alex Lindsay Award trust is administered by seven trustees, all of whom are current players in the NZSO. They convene each year in August to assess the applicants’ recorded auditions and to review any supporting written materials. This closely resembles the audition process for a position in a professional symphony orchestra.

Awards of up to $10,000 are granted annually. The number of recipients and monetary value of the awards may vary from year to year.

Name Position
 TRUSTEES Bridget Douglas – Section Principal Flute Chairperson
Brian Shillito – Sub Principal Viola Treasurer
Peter Dykes – Associate Principal Oboe Secretary
Vesa-Matti Leppanen – Concertmaster
Andrew Jarvis – Principal Tuba
Lenny Sakofsky – Section Principal Percussion
Robert Ibell – Cello

back to top