MENU close-nav Created with Sketch.


The Alex Lindsay Award trust is administered by seven trustees, all of whom are current players in the NZSO. They convene each year in August to assess the applicants’ recorded auditions and to review any supporting written materials. This closely resembles the audition process for a position in a professional symphony orchestra.

2016 Alex Lindsay Award winners
Alexa Thomson, viola
Jacky Siu, cello
Joella Pinto, violin

2016 Giese Flute Grant winner
Samantha McSweeney

The inaugural 2016 Michael Monaghan Award
Julie Park, viola

Alex Lindsay Award 2015
Annabel Drummond – Violin
Reuben Chin – Saxophone
Alexander McFarlane – Viola

NZSO NYO SPecial Prize 2015
Matthew Lee – Flute

Giese Flute Grant
Hugh Roberts – Flute

Previous Award Winners (PDF)