MENU close-nav Created with Sketch.


Driven by the vision of Honorary Conductor Pietari Inkinen, the NZSO Fellowship Programme is our premier offering for emerging orchestral musicians, providing a unique year-long association with the Orchestra and bespoke opportunities to work with NZSO players, international conductors, soloists and educators.
Participants travel to Wellington on a regular basis where they have the opportunity to spend time with members of the NZSO, our guest artists and conductors.

IMG 2009

Lucy Gijsbers and Narek Hakhnazaryan (2017)


This programme is designed for orchestral instruments only. Opportunities for participants include:

  • Lessons with NZSO Principals
  • Observing NZSO rehearsals
  • Coaching by NZSO guest soloists
  • Complimentary tickets to NZSO concerts
  • Orchestral sector training sessions with NZSO management.

We are now accepting applications for 2018 Fellowship Programme. The applications close on Monday 2 October 5pm.

To apply for this programme, please email Tjasa Dykes a PDF copy of your CV and a cover letter outlining your musical aspirations along with a recording of yourself playing two contrasting pieces on your principal instrument. Please submit an MP3 recording which you can share via DropBox, Google docs or email (if the file is not too big).
If necessary, short listed candidates may be required to audition live. NZSO will contact affected applicants directly, and will cover transport and accommodation costs as required.

Please note that this programme is only open to New Zealand residents and citizens based in New Zealand.

2017 Fellowship students include:

  • Anna Cooper, flute (GIS)
  • Anita Austin, horn (AKL)
  • Reuben Chin, classical saxophone (WLG)
  • Andrew Yorkstone, trombone (WLG)
  • Toby Pringle, trumpet (WLG)
  • Christine Lee, violin (AKL)
  • Claudia Matthews, violin (WLG)
  • Lucy Gijsbers, cello (WLG)