MENU close-nav Created with Sketch.

NZSO TODD Corporation Young Composers Award joint winners announced

Jay Greenberg and Reuben Jelleyman were announced joint winners of the 2015 NZSO TODD Corporation Young Composers Award last night.

Greenberg was also named the winner of the Orchestra’s Choice Award, judged by New Zealand Symphony Orchestra players.

Both remarked how “privileged” they felt to win, given the high standard of the other compositions.

One of the judges, Wellington-based composer, software developer and music theorist Michael Norris, praised Greenberg for the “incredible originality” of his score ‘Water Wheel with Mantras’ as well as his confidence with the Orchestra. Jelleyman’s composition ‘Strobe’ was praised for its “delicacy” and ability to elicit new sounds from the Orchestra.

Greenberg, 23, is from the United States and has been studying in Auckland for the past two and a half years. He recently completed his second year of a DMus in Composition at the University of Auckland. He began writing for orchestra at a young age and had his first work performed at age 14. Greenberg’s works have been performed by the London Symphony Orchestra, Pittsburgh Symphony, the New Haven Symphony Orchestra, the Minnesota Orchestra, and many other national and international ensembles.

Jelleyman, 22, is based in Wellington. He recently completed a degree in Physics at Victoria University of Wellington, as well as a conjoint degree in Sonic Arts at Te Kōki New Zealand School of Music. This is the third year he has been a finalist in this competition, and he has previously won numerous awards for composition.

The NZSO TODD Corporation Young Composers Award is open to young composers up to the age of 25.  This year nine young composers were short-listed from 24 applications by a panel of industry professionals: NZSO Section Principal Harp Carolyn Mills, NZSO Section Principal Percussion Leonard Sakofsky and Michael Norris.

From 1-3 December the finalists gathered in Wellington for intensive mentoring sessions, tutorials and workshops. Each finalist had their composition workshopped, rehearsed and performed by the NZSO under the baton of acclaimed Australian conductor Richard Gill, and recorded by Radio New Zealand Concert.

This year’s judges were Richard Gill, Michael Norris and Leonard Sakofsky.

Radio New Zealand Concert will feature all nine compositions online early next year.

NZSO TODD Corporation Young Composers Award programme is made possible through the generous support of the TODD Corporation, and has enabled the recording of more than 70 new works since its inception in 2005.

For more information about Jay Greenberg visit
For more information about Reuben Jelleyman visit