Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10 op.93 E minor

In his NZSO debut, Sir Donald Runnicles leads the NZSO for Shostakovich’s magnificent Tenth Symphony


53 minutes 10 seconds

Performance Date

28 April 2023


Donald Runnicles


Shostakovich Symphony No. 10 in E Minor, Op. 93

Sir Donald Runnicles Conductor

Sir Donald is General Music Director of the prestigious Deutsche Oper Berlin, Music Director of the Grand Teton Music Festival in the United States and Principal Guest Conductor of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra. The Guardian hailed Maestro Runnicles’ interpretation of Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra as “outstanding… stunning… and absolutely riveting”.

This symphony, written after the death of Joseph Stalin, reflects the difficult and turbulent times in which it was created. The symphony has four movements, each with its unique mood and character. The first movement is intense and dramatic, the second is more somber and reflective, the third is a lively and spirited scherzo, and the final movement is a triumphant and powerful conclusion.

Shostakovich's Symphony No. 10 is known for its emotional depth and musical complexity, making it a notable work in the 20th-century classical music repertoire. It's a powerful piece that reflects the composer's personal struggles and the historical context of his time.

By permission of Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers Ltd.
All rights administered by Hal Leonard Australia.

Principal partners