Board & Administration

Te Pōari me ngā whakahaere

The New Zealand Symphony Orchestra is an autonomous Crown entity.

We are comprised of the Board, the Support Team, and The NZSO Foundation.

NZSO Board

Appointed by the Minister for Arts, Culture, and Heritage, the Board members bring a diverse array of artistic and business expertise. This experience is essential for governance and enables the NZSO to successfully reach its strategic goals.

Carmel Walsh Acting Chair
Chris Finlayson KC
Edwin Read
Wilma Smith 
Claire Szabó
Kaine Thompson

NZSO Support Team

Kirsten Mason Acting Chief Executive

Orchestra Delivery

Jane Bulpin Director: Orchestra Delivery
Heikki Mohell Senior Manager: Operations
Rachel McLarin Senior Manager: Orchestra 
Hannah Sellars Assistant Orchestra Manager
Matilda Wickbom Orchestra Administrator
Steve Blennerhassett Production & Transport Manager
Shanell Bielawa Production & Touring Coordinator
Kurt Gibson Stage Manager
Kelly Butler Travel & Tours Executive

Finance & Corporate Services

Grant McKenna Director: Finance & Corporate Services
Craig Thorne Senior Manager: Projects
Michelle Parry Senior Manager: People & Culture
Sharon Cochran Senior Manager: Finance & Business Services
Jessie Huang Principal Advisor: Finance
Tammy Shimolina Accounts Administrator
Kezia Rock Senior Payroll Officer
Emma Neas Executive Assistant

Development & Supporter Engagement

Carleen Ebbs Senior Manager: Development 
Chantal Woodfine Development Manager - Auckland
Zac Johns Fundraising Executive
Audrey Wood Philanthropy & Partnerships Executive

Artistic Programming, Innovation & Audience Engagement

Claire Wackrow Senior Manager: Commercial & Partnership Programmes
Craig Child Marketing Manager
Tom Cardy Publicist
Sola Tuo Marketing Executive
Phoebe Tuxford Community Manager 
Catherine Myhill Ticketing & Memberships Manager
Gina Heidekruger Event Coordinator – Member Services
Graeme Browne Ticketing & Memberships Assistant
Lucrecia Colominas Senior Manager: Artistic Planning
Shona Jaunas Artistic Manager
Keith Moss Scheduling Executive
Reuben Brown Artistic Administrator
Brendan Agnew Music Librarian
Karla Norton Associate Music Librarian
Grant Baker Artistic Coordinator & Assistant Music Librarian
Pascale Parenteau Senior Manager: Education & Community Engagement
Reuben Chin Education & Community Engagement Manager
Ellen Murfitt Education & Community Engagement Coordinator
Chris Lam Sam Animateur

Regional Representatives

Christine Hainstock ONZM South Island Representative

Student Ambassadors

Alisa Petrova University of Canterbury
Greta Rowan-Paul University of Otago

The NZSO Foundation Trustees

The NZSO Foundation is a charitable trust, established in 1996 as a separate entity from the NZSO. Through its Endowment Fund, the Foundation aims to help grow and develop the next generation of New Zealand musicians. 

Dame Patsy Reddy Chair
Chris Finlayson KC
Christine Hainstock ONZM
Dame Bronwen Holdsworth DNZM
Paul McArthur
Ross Steele
Daniel Wong

Explore more

Work with us

View our current vacancies and find out what it's like to work for the NZSO

Read more

Meet the Players

Meet the musicians who bring the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra to life

Read more

National Youth Orchestra

We are committed to the development of New Zealand’s young orchestral musicians

Learn more